Skip to content

The Knock of God

June 24, 2006

*Knock at the Door*

Two Well Dressed Men (TWDM) : Hi, my name is ___, and I'm ____. We're from the Church of Latter Day Saints.

Me: Hi…

TWDM: And your name is?

Me: I'm Jason

*we shake hands*

TWDM: We were just hoping we could talk with you about the Bible and share the message of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.

Me: Oh, well I'm afraid I'm not interested. But have a good day.

TWDM: Do you know if you could point us to someone who would be interested?

Me: Uh, I don't know. I just moved here so I don't really know anyone…

TWDM: Well, thank you anyway.

Wow! My first door-to-door encounter with a religious group. Latter-day Saints, I believe are Mormons. I didn't know there were that many in the Bay area. I kind of wish I had invited them in, but I was afraid I wouldn't be able to get them to leave, because I often get into situations that are difficult to back out of

However, if they did come in, I would definitely ask them some questions. These are questions I would ask any Christian group that knocked on my door.

  • Do you believe that your church has the "one truth" to salvation?
  • If so, what makes your church different from other sects of Christianity (Jesuits, Baptists, Jehovah's Witness)?
  • Do I have to believe in Jesus Christ to be saved?
  • If I just lived a life of love and peace, would I not go heaven?
  • Do you believe the Bible is the literal word of God? That the Universe was created in a literal 6 days?
  • Do people who never get to hear about God or the Bible in thier lifetime go to hell?
  • If not, what about people who were brought up in a very anti-religious background and community

That last question always bugs me when it comes to religion. I know this questions might be offensive to some people, but I think they are still worth thinking about. I guess the takeaway here is: 1) If you are religious, what do you think about thes questions? and 2) If you are not religious, ask someone you know what they think.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2006 10:53 am

    you invite them in, and then you discuss and argue with them. jason, what are they going to do? fight you? (though that would be hilarious) see, that’s where you get the good story from :D:D:D

  2. June 24, 2006 3:48 pm

    You’re right. I really regretted not asking them in. I was just so surprised that my initial reaction was to not let strangers into my house. Now I’m hoping them come again…

Leave a Reply

