Skip to content

Finding Yourself – Day 6

August 30, 2006

Now that we’ve got your Purpose down in writing, put it away for a while.  I wouldn’t call it your ultimate calling just yet.  But just like writing a paper or a speech, it’s easier to edit once you’ve got something down.

There is only one thing I want you to do today, and that is read an essay by a well known American writer.  His name is Ralph Waldo Emerson.  You probably have heard of him.  Well, he wrote a great essay called Self Reliance that should be mandatory reading for every American.  (And international readers, I think this essay is just as important for you as well)  Emerson talks about being true to yourself, and tells you why honesty is essential to life a real life.

I’ve got a link of Self Reliance translated by Adam Khan into modern English.  Emerson wrote many years ago and the words he uses are often not commonly used today.  It makes the writing a little harder to get into.  But the modern English version solves the problem.  It’s great.  Read it, savor it, and think about it.
http://www.youmeworks.com/self_reliance_translated.html 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 6:48 pm

    I feel that is among the so much important information for me.
    And i am satisfied studying your article.
    But wanna remark on few normal things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is actually great : D.
    Good task, cheers

  2. June 23, 2013 12:35 pm

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.
    I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own blog now 😉

  3. June 24, 2013 1:13 am

    Nice answers in return of this question with real arguments and
    telling everything about that.

  4. June 24, 2013 3:04 am

    I was excited to find this site. I wanted to thank you for your
    time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every little
    bit of it and i also have you book marked to see new things on your website.

  5. June 28, 2013 3:07 pm

    I think everything composed made a lot of sense.
    But, consider this, suppose you wrote a catchier post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t solid, but what if you added a title that makes people want more?

    I mean Finding Yourself – Day 6 | Highly Disparate Thoughts is kinda boring.
    You should look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post titles to get viewers interested. You might add a related video or a picture or two to get readers excited about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your website a little bit more interesting.

  6. July 8, 2013 3:13 pm

    I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed
    every little bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out
    new things you post…

Trackbacks

  1. Finding Yourself in 7 Days « A Collection of Highly Disparate Thoughts

Leave a comment